Feminism · Musings · Social life

Real Women Wear What They Want

An article in this month’s Glamour Magazine has an interview with the actor and singer Zooey Deschanel, who in responding to some criticism for her “girlish” taste in fashion says “I want to be a f’ing feminist and wear a f’ing Peter Pan collar, then so f’ing what?”
Apparently, because she frequently likes to dress in what these critics are calling an overly feminine way, then she can’t really be feminist.
I’m fully with Zooey here as I can’t see how choosing clothes to suit ones own preferences, as opposed to dressing in a way that someone else says you ought to, is any way un-feminist (if that’s a word)?
Seems to me that these idiots are getting feminism confused with joining the army.
Real women wear what they want, not what somebody tells them to wear, and if it happens to be feminine, flattering or sexy then so what?
For the record, tonight I’m going out dressed like this!

Don't say I'm not a feminist!
Friday night out
3 thoughts on “Real Women Wear What They Want

  1. Real women wear what they want, not what somebody tells them to wear,

    Feel free to dress as “sexily” as you want, if it appeases the male-gaze, expect no opprobrium.

    calling an overly feminine way, then she can’t really be feminist.

    I’m pretty sure she can be and is a feminist. But embracing femininity (aka subordinate status) might not be the best way of rebelling against the patriarchy.

    We all strike a patriarchal bargain of sorts to get by in society, to each her own.

    1. It’s on the same lines but my attitude to just about everything is that I do what I want, not whatever I’m “supposed” to do, so if I ever felt like doing housework, then I’d just start cleaning etc.
      In theory anyway.
      Not that it’s at all likely I could imagine wanting to do any housework….Smile

Leave a Reply

