Feminism · Musings

Double Standards

It’s in the newspaper this morning that now Hillary Clinton has formally resigned as US Secretary of State, some people close to her are debating the pros and cons of another presidential run.

Just this exchange with a student in Kinshasa who’d asked what Bill Clinton thought about Chinese influence in Africa “You want me to tell you what my husband thinks?” she asked, “My husband is not the Secretary of State. I am. So, you ask my opinion, I will tell you my opinion. I’m not going to be channelling my husband” was enough to get me to read the entire article, and find out more about her and what she’s achieved.

Most of the positives may well depend on your political viewpoint, but what’s annoyed me is that one of her perceived weaknesses is that she appeared before a Senate committee and cried while recalling seeing the bodies of her friends repatriated after a terrorist attack in Libya.

So how is it that when Obama sobbed after the Sandy Hook shootings he was hailed as courageous and compassionate, but shedding tears rules out a woman for the top job?

 

Leave a Reply

